Review: Nowhere But Here by Renee Carlino


Nowhere by Here by Renee Carlino
Release Date:  May 5, 2014
My Rating:  4-stars

A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.

Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.

With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.

USA TODAY bestselling author RenĂ©e Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down.


I am not sure what to write about with this story.  I will start with the writing.  You can tell this book is well thought out.  It’s pieced together so well, you can’t help but to get caught up in the story.  It isn’t overwhelming or underwhelming.  It’s just right.
This book is just how a romance should be.  Simple, but with just a little complication thrown in.  No overly descriptive sexual situations.  No drama queen tendencies.  It just is.  I really liked that about this book.  It is refreshing to read something that is cut and dry.
Now, here is the part where I was not as drawn in as I could be.  The relationship between Kate and R.J. happens quickly.  Well, it would have to since the timeframe that these two have interaction, but still it’s a bit quick.  There wasn’t much build up.  They met and bam, they had this intense connection to one another.  I saw the hidden identity from the get-go, but I think we are supposed to.  By seeing it, it brings a smidge of suspense…. When will she figure it out or he reveal himself to her?
The idea of the self-doubt and recluse lifestyle with both of these characters is very realistic in the sense that we all have those tendencies in us.  We can relate to how they feel about themselves, their lives and their privacy.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book just like all of Renee’s other books.  If you are looking for more a light read that you can read with ease, this is definitely a book for you.


Click the book cover to buy on Amazon


Renee’s first friends were the imaginary kind and even though her characters haven’t gone away, thankfully the delusions have. She admits she’s a wildly hopeless romantic and she blames 80’s movies staring Molly Ringwald for that. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog June. When she’s not at the beach with her boys or working on the next book, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate.
Website     Goodreads     Facebook     Amazon

Comments