Review: Try Not to Breathe by Holy Seddon


For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she finds her purpose again in tackling the mystery of a shocking headline-making crime, still unsolved after fifteen years.

Amy Stevenson was the biggest news story of 1995. Only fifteen years old, Amy disappeared walking home from school one day and was found in a coma three days later. Her attacker was never identified and her angelic face was plastered across every paper and nightly news segment.

Fifteen years later, Amy lies in the hospital, surrounded by 90’s Britpop posters, forgotten by the world until reporter Alex Dale stumbles across her while researching a routine story on vegetative patients.

Remembering Amy’s story like it was yesterday, she feels compelled to solve the long-cold case.

The only problem is, Alex is just as lost as Amy—her alcoholism has cost her everything including her marriage and her professional reputation.

In the hopes that finding Amy’s attacker will be her own salvation as well, Alex embarks on a dangerous investigation, suspecting someone close to Amy.

Told in the present by an increasingly fragile Alex and in dream-like flashbacks by Amy as she floats in a fog of memories, dreams, and music from 1995, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer to a breathtaking conclusion. 

Amazon  *  B&N  *  iBooks  *  Kobo


* 4 Star Review *

I really do love psychological thrillers. I couldn't put this one down. Such a unique story that had me hooked from the beginning. I couldn't wait to see what this author had in store for me!

Such a tale of twists and turns. Between the abduction and coma and the reporter barely hanging on to her life. The turn of events over such a long period of time create a story that is addicting.

I don't want to really talk much about the plot of the story. The synopsis speaks for itself. This story is multi-dimensional and easy to follow. You will find yourself so wrapped up in this web that you won't pay attention to anything else.

Kudos to this debut author. I will be watching out for more books from this new author. 


Holly Seddon was born and raised in the sleepy south-west of England and now lives slap bang in the centre of Amsterdam with her husband and four children. Throughout her 15-year career, Holly has been privileged to work in some of the UK’s most exciting newsrooms. 

TRY NOT TO BREATHE is her first novel, published in the UK (Corvus/Atlantic), USA and Canada (Ballantine/Penguin Random House), Australia and New Zealand (Allen & Unwin) and The Netherlands (Ambo Anthos). It will soon be available in the US , Germany (Heyne), Russia (Sindbad), Swiat Ksiazk (Poland and, Crown (Taiwan) .

Holly is currently writing her next novel.

Website  *  Goodreads  *  Facebook  *  Amazon



Comments