Pages

Monday, May 1, 2017

Review: I Found You by Lisa Jewell

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

Amazon   /   B&N   /   iBooks   /   Kobo   /   Google Play

**** 4 Star Review ****

I was a little nervous going into this book. I have only read one of Lisa's books in the past, and I wasn't all that fond of it. I am always one to not snub reading an author just because I didn't like something in the past. This book made me glad that I am always willing to try again.

This book hooked me from the start. The confusion. The uncertainty. I wanted to know who was who and what exactly happened. The further into the book I got, the more I needed the ending.

This is definitely a book you need to give your full attention to. The clues are both subtle and right in your face. You need to make sure that you absorb every single thing that happens in the present and the past.

If you are looking for a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing from the beginning, this is definitely a book for you. The way the past and present eventually present themselves as one story, you can't help but to be cheering by the end.

No comments:

Post a Comment