Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series! Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold―a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country’s magical military elite―and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

A New York Times Bestseller A Los Angeles Times Bestseller An Indie Next List Book This title has Common Core connections.

Praise for the Grishaverse

“A master of fantasy.” ―The Huffington Post “Utterly, extremely bewitching.” ―The Guardian “The best magic universe since Harry Potter.” ―Bustle “This is what fantasy is for.” ―The New York Times Book Review “[A] world that feels real enough to have its own passport stamp.” ―NPR “The darker it gets for the good guys, the better.” ―Entertainment Weekly “Sultry, sweeping and picturesque. . . . Impossible to put down.” ―USA Today “There’s a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo’s original epic fantasy that sets it apart.” ―Vanity Fair “Unlike anything I’ve ever read.” ―Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent “Bardugo crafts a first-rate adventure, a poignant romance, and an intriguing mystery!” ―Rick Riordan, bestselling author of the Percy Jackson series “This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien.” ―RT Book Reviews

Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom King of Scars

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

*****4 Star Review****

Fantasy isn't my normal genre of choice, however, last year I wanted to expand and read something outside of my normal comfort zone. I am so glad I did. Fantasy is like a breath of fresh air and opens your mind to a whole different world.

I have had this series on my TBR for quiet some time and heard amazing things about it. I wish I would have started them sooner! I am HOOKED now after just finishing this book.

Alina is a character you will love. She is an orphaned girl doing her duties in her countries army. She is pretty basic and wants nothing more but to gain the attention of her best friend Mal. Alina and Mal where orphaned together at a young age and have an undeniable bond. She will do anything for Mal and that has been proven within this story.

Alina has no knowledge of the power she holds within herself until one day everything explodes in her normal world. She is the only one left who possesses this certain power and the Darkling needs her help to save the world. Nothing will ever be the same again for Alina.

Can Alina help save the world from the darkness? I'm not 100% sure of this yet, but I can not wait to find out in the next book!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2018 Up All Night Book Addict