• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2018 Up All Night Book Addict Wix.com

Review: She Regrets Nothing by Andrea Dunlop

February 7, 2018

In the tradition of The Emperor’s Children and The House of Mirth, the forgotten granddaughter of one of New York’s wealthiest men is reunited with her family just as she comes of age—and once she’s had a glimpse of their glittering world, she refuses to let it go without a fight.

 

When Laila Lawrence becomes an orphan at twenty-three, the sudden loss unexpectedly introduces her to three glamorous cousins from New York who show up unannounced at her mother’s funeral. The three siblings are scions of the wealthy family from which Laila’s father had been estranged long before his own untimely demise ten years before.

 

Two years later, Laila has left behind her quiet life in Grosse Point, Michigan to move to New York City, landing her smack in the middle of her cousins’ decadent world. As the truth about why Laila’s parents became estranged from the family patriarch becomes clear, Laila grows ever more resolved to claim what’s rightfully hers. Caught between longing for the love of her family and her relentless pursuit of the lifestyle she feels she was unfairly denied, Laila finds herself reawakening a long dead family scandal—not to mention setting off several new ones—as she becomes further enmeshed in the lives and love affairs of her cousins. But will Laila ever, truly, belong in their world? Sly and sexy, She Regrets Nothing is a sharply observed and utterly seductive tale about family, fortune, and fate—and the dark side of wealth.

 

Amazon   /   B&N   /   iBooks   /   Kobo   /   Google Play

 

*** Three Star Review ***

 

Young Adult books are usually a hit and miss for me. Sometimes I love them; sometimes I am indifferent with them. Unfortunately, this one is the latter.

 

I had seen this book all over social media for months. Because it seemed to be everywhere I turned, I decided to scoop it up. It sounded intriguing enough.

 

I really struggled with this one. It was a bit much for me. A little too exaggerated, a little too immature considering the ages of the characters. There were parts that kept me going, but the character development ruined it for me. None of quite fit.

 

I am all for scandals and a twist here and there... I saw the twist coming from the gate. The scandals were a bit over the top for me. I just couldn't get invested in this book like I would have liked. There was too much ridiculousness going on from all directions. 

 

Those that like the over dramatic, drawn out scandals of the rich, this book might be right up your alley. It definitely wasn't a book for me. 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

The Whisper Man

August 20, 2019

1/2
Please reload

Recent Posts